Le Cinque Terre.org


The peculiar territorial formation of the Cinque Terre (Five Lands) is the result of the rocks pressure during thousands of years. The erosion of the water has created hundreds of bays and small creeks.
Monterosso, Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola, Riomaggiore form the Cinque Terre. Already populated in remote times, these villages have developed their current aspect thanks to the patient human work. The terrace cultivations are characteristic of the five villages, built on narrow ribbons on the sea, defined by an unthinkable number of dry-laid stone walls. According to a study, adding the several walls, the Five Lands would be travelled by two meters high and eleven thousand kilometres long wall.
The forgetfulness in which they fell under the Republic of Genoa has been the salvation for the conservation of its natural beauty. Today is not easy to reach the Five Lands by car and the railroad is the best means of transport.

Cinque Terre view
Cinque Terre view